CHSH Best Thesis Award

The Vienna University of Economics and Business and CHSH present the "LAWard 2017"

For the ninth consecutive year, CHSH Cerha Hempel Spiegelfeld Hlawati has – in cooperation with the business law programme at the Vienna University of Economics and Business (WU Wien) – awarded prizes to those students who have written the best dissertations on the subjects of law and commercial law.

The official award ceremony for the CHSH Best Thesis Award – the LAWard 2017, which has a total prize fund of EUR 4,500 – was held on Monday 15 January 2018 in the conference rooms of CHSH Cerha Hempel Spiegelfeld Hlawati.

CHSH had the pleasure of welcoming special guest speaker Hon.-Prof. Dr. Eckart Ratz, President of the Supreme Court.

As an international corporate law firm, CHSH aims to support high-quality education and practical legal training and to support those students and graduates who have shown themselves to be particularly gifted and talented individuals. The winners of this year's LAWard were selected by a panel of judges headed by Univ.-Prof. Dr. Georg Kodek, LL.M. (Civil and Corporate Law, Vienna University of Economics and Business) and Dr. Clemens Hasenauer, LL.M./MBA (CHSH Managing Partner) together with Univ.-Prof. Dr. Erich Vranes, LL.M. and Univ.-Prof. DDr. Peter Lewisch (attorney at CHSH).

The winners of the LAWard 2017 are: Dr. Bianca Merz and Dr. Julia Nicolussi for their PhD thesis, Julia Neunteufl, LL.B. (WU) in the Master's thesis category as well as Viktor Malhotra for his undergraduate dissertation. "The jury was very impressed by the high quality of all the winning entries and the way in which the subjects were treated. We're pleased to present the LAWard 2017 to the winners in recognition of their excellent work", said Managing Partner Dr. Clemens Hasenauer who heads the Corporate Transactions Department at CHSH.

After paying tribute to the prizewinners during his citation, Hon.-Prof. Dr. Eckart Ratz gave a keynote speech on the topic: "The Supreme Court as Constitutional Court."

During the subsequent panel discussion, legal issues in this regard were debated before a distinguished audience by a panel consisting of Hon.-Prof. Dr. Eckart Ratz, Univ.-Prof. Dr. Georg Kodek, LL.M. (Honorary Counsellor of the Supreme Court), Univ.-Prof. DDr. Peter Lewisch and Dr. Clemens Hasenauer, LL.M./MBA.